Motherhood Incorporated and the Great Smokey Sendoff

SMokeyAs many of you know, I had to put down my dog of 15 years just six short weeks ago. Today, her best friend of 13 years left us to go to that great dog run in the sky.   Smokey, this black bundle of love and cuddles, saw me through years of fertility treatments gone awry until I had no tears left.  She was there for me on my darkest days with a wag of the tail and her shiny chocolate brown button eyes. We had so many adventures together and this picture was taken in Yosemite. I don’t think that in the 10 years she graced my life that I ever raised my voice to her. Eager to please, eager to love, she was joy personified.  Please join me in sending Smokey off with a message to your dogs that have gone beyond to welcome her and play with her on her first day there.

Sandra Beck

Leave a Reply

