Where Did All the Friendly People Go? by Nicole Ocean

Let me explain a little more about where I came up with the title to this blog.

Last weekend I went on a ferry boat trip out to an amazing local island called Orcas Island. This island is located in the San Juan Island chain and is a well-kept secret among the local folk. Those that know about its beauty and amazement tend to be pretty tight-lipped and very hush-hush about it.

After boarding a huge ferry boat that is able to pack in what seems like hundreds of cars we continued travelling across the ocean for an hour. We (meaning my lucky boyfriend and myself) arrived at the ferry landing on Orcas Island. I knew what to expect as we got ready to leave the ferry boat. We waited our turn and didn’t have to wait long to be on terra firma again, and boy what a beautiful piece of earth it was!

I had planned a special day trip for us and was excited in the fact that we were just on the island. I would have to say that if you visited this place you could tell that you were someplace truly remarkable and out of the ordinary. Not only is the scenery awe-inspriring, but you just might be lucky enough to experience a long-forgotten tradition that used to occur on the mainland. This forgotten tradition is really quite a simple gesture. Many of the local people practice it very well….and that is their ability to simply raise their hand in acknowledgement while anyone drives by them and as they pass someone on the road they go out of their way to wave as they pass you.

This simple act struck a chord in me right away and I couldn’t help but want to share this story with you. I learned that it is typical for people that live on any island in my neck of the woods to wave at people when they pass each other on the road. I think this is one of the coolest things anyone can experience while visiting and/or if you are fortunate enough to be able to live on any island; such as on Orcas Island.

I can’t help but wonder why most people have forgotten how to be friendly and to simply do a small, kind act like acknowledge another human being when they encounter them.

I think there was a lesson to learn that day and I hope you won’t forget to be friendly to a perfect stranger sometime in someway, today! I know I will put it to good use myself!

Make today something special!

By Nicole Ocean

www.nicoleocean.com

www.nicolesdreamsebooks.com

www.motherhoodincorporated.com

Leave a Reply

