The Most Important Event of My Life So Far by Karly Godoy

The Most Important Event of My Life (So Far)

by Karly Godoy

Getting married was a very big event for me.  I’m sure when I give birth for the first time that will be right up there as well.  But getting outside of myself and my own family “unit” I’d have to say that the fundraising event tomorrow night here at Tashirat in Tepoztlan, Mexico is the most important event of my life (so far).

Being a mother I feel deeply for the needs of my children and my husband.  Working at an orphanage for 4 years and working closely with poor communities in Mexico all of my life opens my vision and my heart to be a mother to all children and all families that need love and support.  The effect that this one event can have on so many people is overwhelming.

We are opening a school for approximately 75 children who have little to no chance of ever graduating from their current school and have little chance to do much beyond the poverty and joblessness they see in their neighborhood every day. 

These children will get the help they need.  These children will take this education and new vision for life and help their families.  The families that get helped will start to do the same for others.

Have you ever seen the movie “Pay It Forward” with Helen Hunt and Kevin Spacey?  This is exactly what is going to happen here.  1 fixed child = 1 fixed family = 1 more family that can help out those that are in need.

To quote Bono from U2, “There is so much stupid poverty in the world, how can we not do something. “

Most of the time people just need a hand to get on their feet.  They need encouragement that they can learn to read.  They need to know that there are possibilities beyond their current conditions.

Our goal at the Ixaya School Project (www.ixayaschool.com) reaches beyond the children that will walk through our doors.  Down the road we will open up a program where mothers and fathers will come to school with their children and in a separate facility will learn to read and write, learn new job skills, learn how to use a computer and learn how to take what they have been given and share it with others.

1 fixed child creates a ripple of positivity in this world that is unimaginable.

This event tomorrow night will help determine whether we can have a high-school or not this year.

This is why this event is the most important even of my life(so far) because of how many people it stands to affect.

If you would like to help us out in any way, please visit our campaign site at www.500together.com or our school project site at www.ixayaschool.com.

Until next week.

Wish me luck!!

Karly Mezera

2 thoughts on “The Most Important Event of My Life So Far by Karly Godoy

Leave a Reply

