Classes, Canines, and Kid

That’s me in a nutshell.  I’m also new to Motherhood Inc.  and would like to introduce myself . . .

It was a dark and stormy night-  No, seriously.  I was a student long before the rest of this.  I went to the University of Iowa and double-majored in English and Theater.  I then trekked across the country to SUNY Potsdam where I almost got an M.A. in English and Communications.  What can I say?  I’m on the ten-year plan.  I’m currently working on my Ph.D. in English with a focus in African-American literature at the University of North Texas.  I would like to say I will be finished soon, but there are two other factors of my life that tend to slow me down . . .

 I grew up around several different dogs of varying breeds and intelligence.  While I was at the University of Iowa, The Boss agreed to come live with me.  She has a name, but she prefers The Boss.  She’s small in stature but gigantic in personality, and she’s currently accepting applications for a new family.  We have asked her to stay, assured her we won’t give her up, and pleaded with her for more chances, but she’s pretty upset about the third factor of my life.  When The Boss was two, I came across My Best Friend.  He also has a name, but when the day is done he wants more than anything else to be My Best Friend.  I am just one person, however, and so we had to acquire a friend for him (The Boss was busy).  Introducing Miss Understood!  She’s had the toughest life of them all, but she’s come into her own.  Her list of dislikes are long, but pleasure is an easy find.  Between school and my dogs, I am incredibly busy.  I have been incredibly busy for years, which is why we decided it was the perfect time to bring in the third factor of my life . . .

The coolest person in the world is twenty-six inches tall.  She is a little more than six months old, and she thinks I am the greatest thing that has ever happened.  She is cuddly and cute, and I’m unashamedly convinced that she’s the best baby ever.  Every once in a great while I meet some poor, confused soul who does not fully appreciate her fabulousness for all its shining glory.  There’s no accounting for taste.

 So that’s me in a very large nutshell.  I also have an especially fabulous husband, but he knows how fantastic he is.  He is the one who makes it possible for me to take the classes, have the canines, and raise the kid all at the same time.

Leave a Reply

