Swimmimg Summer Fun by Jennifer France-Talvitie

My 8 month-old just went swimming for the first time. What fun we had!! I knew it would be a smash knowing how much he loves the bathtub.

Our new friends from our local Moms Club invited us over to her pool. Today in LA it’s 100 degrees….flippin hot! So, we jumped at the chance of cooling off and hanging out with our new friends.

We ended up walking to her condo complex. It took about 25 minutes. Crap, it was a hot walk. I had my little guy hold an ice cold water bottle in his hands so as to keep him cool under his stroller canopy. That worked well. By the time we got there we were both ready to get in.

Zander kicked around and smiled for up to 40 minutes. I brought along a device called the Baby Spring Float from Swim Ways. He sits in the middle and it has a sun shade over the top of it. I highly recommend it. You can get it at Target for $14.99.

I wasn’t sure how he’d take to being slowly put under water. He took to it like a champ! He didn’t seem a bit bothered by it. I only did it one and a half times (up to his nose, the first time).

As we walked home from our new adventure a sense of summer fun came over me. Today is officially summer. Happy summer to you all!!!

Leave a Reply

