I Survived My Separation! / by Elisa Garcia

stock photo quill and paper courtesy of Google imagesI’m back!

At the beginning of the month, I wrote a long, painful entry about my upcoming writer’s conference and the ensuing 8-day-long separation from my daughter.

Miraculously, she survived, as did the house, the partner, the pets, and everything else.  She was lovingly cared for by my parents and her other mommy.  She made it to swim class.  She played.  She was spoiled … and she thrived.  I won’t lie; it was a bit disconcerting to me (albeit briefly) when she’d quickly sign off after a five-second chat during our daily conversations.  (I’d be saying something along the lines of missing her terribly, and she’d interrupt with a boisterous, “I love you, bye bye!” It was beyond cute!).  But, really, I was happy that she wasn’t crying and was enjoying herself, and, apparently, not really missing me.  🙂

And me? Well, I won’t go into all of the details, but to say that this conference was a truly transformative experience on so many levels is a huge understatement.  I met some amazing people, worked on my craft, and really, really thought about things in a way I hadn’t been able to (or afforded time to) before.  Truly transformative– and I’m confident that I’ll continue to reap the benefits for a long time to come.

But now that I’m back to being a full-time mama, it’s soooo good to be home!

by Elisa Garcia

Leave a Reply

