Struggling With Your Little Student's Teacher: Part 3 of 3 – By Nicole Perkins

By Nicole Perkins 

My daughter’s Kindergarten class is constant chaos, between the walls where you can’t tell where one things ends and another begins, to the desks all over the place, as well as the kids, it makes my head spin after only an hour – no wonder my daughter comes home so hyper and over stimulated. It is the most ridiculous ADD breeding ground I’ve ever seen. 

In a classroom full of rowdy toddlers, some of whom are eager to learn, others who are eager to play, splitting them up into groups where one is always left under-supervised, makes things more hectic than it needs to be.  Wouldn’t working as one big group, where everyone’s on the same page be more conducive to actual learning instead of just completing things? Questions would only need to be answered once instead of 20 times, the kids could have a nice pleasant pace without having to constantly stop in the middle of what they’re doing to switch activities, and there wouldn’t be a batch of 10 five-year olds left to their own devices at all times.  

The other two Kindergarten teachers don’t appear to be like this – I’ve watched and from what I hear, this is not standard operating procedure. I tried to voice some of my concerns at the parent-teacher conference but even then, she appeared totally rushed and flustered – I don’t think she heard a word I said.

So what do I do, switch her to another class? She would be devastated and it would probably cause more emotional harm than good. I’m trying to sign up for as many days as I can to be the parent helper, but I have a two-year old and my own work to do – my time is limited.

Should I talk to the principal? I can’t stand watching some of these poor kids who just sit there with blank stares on their faces until someone comes by to help them – they’ll never learn anything in that environment!

 

Or do I just watch my own kid, go over everything with her after school and help her make sense of the mayhem she “learned” at school that day? I’ve created a little station by my computer where I can get some work done while she does hers so I’m right here to answer any questions and look over what she’s done. It’s just the other kids I feel so bad for – you can literally watch some of them get left behind.

Has anyone else ever had a teacher they were unsure of and what were some of your solutions?

One thought on “Struggling With Your Little Student's Teacher: Part 3 of 3 – By Nicole Perkins

  1. It sounds like you are properly worried about your daughter’s first year of school. However, before you try too hard to fix the situation, you may want to consider the experience factor. As a teacher, this woman presumably has the education and experience required to do her job. That at least implies that she is doing things as she is for a reason. I suggest waiting a while longer before complaining. Consider these questions:

    Is your daughter progressing? If she is, she’s on the right track.
    Does she enjoy her school day? This can be more important than getting everything right in the first year, particularly when you consider how much kindergarten is a child’s first impression of what they will spend the next 12-20 years of their life doing.
    Is she in any way in danger? You have to advocate for your child more than anyone else. If this disorganization is causing potential harm, absolutely speak up. If not, you may want to revert to my previous suggestion of withholding comment for a while longer.

    I recall having “stations” in kindergarten and first grade. They were a lot like what you have described in your OP, but we were divided into groups according to ability. We LOVED this system. We got to try a little bit of everything, but we were moved to a new station before we grew bored. Then we got to go back and finish what we started!

    I’m not an elementary school teacher (although I am an educator), and I think it’s important to allow people the benefit of the doubt in areas where they presumably have the most expertise, at least until they have proven otherwise.

Leave a Reply

