Stealing babies by Deb Gillespie

I remember when my kids were still at home with me, and I kept telling all my friends I can’t wait for them to be gone.  I am not going to have any of that empty nest syndrome.  I won’t miss them at all.  I have such a full life; my work, my friends and tons of activities.  But to my surprise now that they are both gone out of the house, I find myself missing them both dearly.  Strangely, when I’m walking down the street and I see a little baby, I want to grab it and take it home with me.  Obviously I don’t do that!  I’m now 45 years old and asking myself; am I too old to have another one?  Sometimes I am serious in considering this.  

Although I do have a very full life,  I now finally get this “empty nest thing” even though I never thought it would happen to me.

Here I am……. waiting anxiously for my next call from the kids.  I feel like an addict waiting for my next fix. 

by Deb Gillespie

Leave a Reply

