You are Kidding, right? No childcare for working parents?

So recently I was in a discussion where one of the mothers looked at me and asked me why I needed childcare and someone to clean my house.  I explained that I run a business and that I am only one person – I can’t do it all. I can’t even pretend to do it all.  She looked at her friend and told me that she “knew of” many working women who didn’t have childcare or housecleaning.  I asked her how she knew this and she replied with her friend Talia did it all.

Feeling a bit like a failure because I don’t do it all, I started to chart my hours. Yes, someone does my heavy cleaning so I don’t mop the floor unless the dog throws up.  Yes I don’t do the laundry unless my son pees in his bed.  But everything else? I have childcare for 30 hours a week. I work 60.  There are still an additional 127 hours a week I am on duty. Many of those hours I am working while my kids do homework or watch tv to keep up.

I still cook. I still pick up. I still shop. I still dress and undress two children. I give them baths. I feed them. I read stories and I correct homework. I take them outside to run. I take them to the movies. I deduced at the end of one week tracking my hours and my time that these girls are big fat liars. I also do my accounting, pay bills, write proposals, fill job orders and mail out what seems like an ever growing mound of snail mails and emails. And I manage to have clean hair – no makeup most days , but I am clean.

Unless I am missing something, I don’t see how someone can run a business without having childcare for a 2 and 5 year old. They are not old enough to be left alone. I don’t know who could run a business with small children and keep a tidy house and do all that has to be done without having a nervous breakdown. Even with help I struggle.

Maybe its me. 

But I don’t think so.

Some days I think other moms are our worst enemy.   Boo on bad moms… so next time a mom talks about her struggles and other moms declare how easy it is for them and others – simply boo them — outloud if possible!

One thought on “You are Kidding, right? No childcare for working parents?

Leave a Reply

