Beadphoria and Suzann Sladcik Wilson Shares Working Mother Tips

by Suzann Sladcik Wilson/www.beadphoria.com

One of Beadphoria's Designs by Susann Sladcik Wilson.

One of Beadphoria's Designs by Suzann Sladcik Wilson.

Being a wife, mother, and CEO of a growing company can be a challenge. These are some of the lessons that I have learned along the way.

 

 

 

1.       Sometimes saying “no” means saying “yes” – I have had times where I need to say no to an obligation in order to say yes to others – Like missing the end of the year picnic with my son to attend a national conference. I have skipped Chamber of Commerce monthly luncheons so I can serve lunch duty at my son’s school. Knowing when it is ok to put obligations aside to grow your business or family is tricky, but worth the balancing act.

 

2.       Be able to ask for help. – Asking for help can be a challenge. Growing a business is very much like growing a child – it takes a village! My husband, my mother-in-law, my parents, and my friends have all played integral parts in building my business. It may be as small picking up my son at school so I can finish a conference call, or as huge as providing professional photography of my jewelry. It all adds up to a highly successful business. 

 

3.       Stick to the schedule – my husband and son know that almost every Wednesday night I teach class in the evenings. This night is off limits for any scheduling. By keeping things consistent, the expectations are clear.

 

4.       Communicate! Communicate! Communicate! – I have a calendar that hangs on the kitchen wall that is the center of our family. Every event that comes in is checked and written on the calendar. If there is a conflict, we decide as a family what is best.

 

If you are an artist, a beader or someone interested in the art of beading, join Suzann Sladcik Wilson on her site at www.beadphoria.com or her blog www.beadphoria.wordpress.com.  Motherhood Incorporated (www.motherhoodincorporated.com) proudly supports Beadphoria and the beautiful work they do creating Joy one Bead at a Time.

Leave a Reply

