Can Saying No Be A Good Thing? by Sandra Beck, Motherhood Incorporated

 by Sandra Beck, Motherhood Incorporated

 

I hate turning down a job.  Being in business for myself, I have to manage my time wisely.  There is also the unending tasks of being a mother.  Sometimes, I have to tell my family no too.  Ultimately, it comes down to quality.  Whether we aim to produce a first-rate product for our clients, or be a top-notch mom, saying no once in a while may be the only way to achieve our goals.Sail boats

 

So everyday we make choices.  What is most important for our families, for our businesses, for ourselves?  The first time I realized that I was going to have to turn a client away, I was torn about what to do.  I was already heavily committed, and he was looking for some work on short notice.  I didn’t know if I could maintain the relationship we had, and turn down the offer.  On top of that, I had already committed to a weekend hike with my children.

 

As I weighed my options, I considered the disappointment my kids would have in me if I let them down.  I also considered the possibility that the work I had committed to finishing for my other clients may be rushed, or late.  In the end, I sided with my children and the commitments I had already made.  My clients return to me because I keep my commitments and hold myself to high standards when it comes to job performance.  My children learn how to do the same because they watch me.

 

Turning down a customer is risky.  They may turn to someone else.  But to me, tarnishing my reputation and integrity by taking on more than I could handle seemed worse yet.  In the end, I thanked him for the offer and explained that my schedule wouldn’t allow me to accept this time.  He thanked me by offering me another open project at a later date.  I’m glad I learned to recognize my limitations, because now I know that saying no can be a good thing.

 

www.sandrabeck.com

www.motherhoodincorporated.com

Leave a Reply

