Military Mom Salutes Michael Russer and GoArmyHomes by Sandra Beck, Military Mom Talk Radio

 

Michael Russer GoArmyHomes Mt Shasta Banner Signing

Michael Russer GoArmyHomes Mt Shasta Banner Signing

By Sandra Beck, Military Mom Talk Radio, Motherhood Incorporated

 

Every once in a while I get a great story or hear something wonderful that a company is doing to support the military.  I wanted to share this with you and think Michael tells it best himself.

As told by Michael Russer…

Every two years a group of guys (I’m usually the “Father Time” of the group – chronologically anyway :o) do some sort of outdoor adventure.  Last time was hiking the Grand Canyonrim to rim in one day.  This time we chose to summitMt.Shasta which is the 4th highest mountain inCalifornia and has glacier snow fields year-round.

Meanwhile I had my GAH banner from when we started the program –had the idea of getting some local kids to sign it and I’d carry it to the summit. With school out it was not looking good to find those kids before we went up. However, a day before the trip I noticed a kids Surf Camp at the beach near where I live and they readily agreed to complete the banner to say “Thanks!” for our troops inAfghanistan.

With respect to the troops I thought the symbolism of carrying this memento of our thanks and appreciation to one of the highest summits in the 48 contiguous states was a great way of seeing our fighting men and women as being at the top as well. 

Michael Russer  and GoArmy Homes we salute you at Military Mom Talk Radio and Motherhood Incorporated.

One thought on “Military Mom Salutes Michael Russer and GoArmyHomes by Sandra Beck, Military Mom Talk Radio

  1. Thanks Michael, for doing something different to express appreciation and support for our troops. I also am thankful for the organization of Military Moms. For many of our troops, especially the younger ones, it is hard to contemplate the deep love a mother has for her child and the young adult doesn’t begin to fathm the emotional experience a mother has when her child is in harm’s way.
    It was decades after I returned from my single year in Vietnam that I comprehended what my mother went through. As a young married guy, my written communication was almost entirely with my wife, and with the normal one week delay in mail, no cell phones, no email, etc., battles were shown on TV and the folks at home had to wait for a letter or postcard to be assured their child was still OK. MY wife refused to watch the news but would always share with Mom whenever she got a letter from me. She learned Mom would sometimes ask when I had written a letter and that was a sign my outfit had been involved in a combat action.
    Soldiers may volunteer, but the family is forced along for whatever it involves…

Leave a Reply

