Life Leadership: Believe in the Impossible by Sandra Beck

Four years ago if you had said to me that I would be happy and joyful and silly and carefree I would have taken you to have your head examined. I was struggling every day to make ends meet, to be a single mom to an infant and toddler. My mother was dying from cancer and I was going through foreclosure. Yes, the stuff dreams are made of.

I want to a few therapists. Some were good. Some not so much. I talked to friends and got great advice and listened to some really stupid stuff. I was like a pinball running into bumpers, getting slammed across the room and rolling around sometimes aimless racked with fear. Not a good look.

Then one therapist said the problem you are having right now is that you don’t believe in the possibility that things will get better. I looked at her. She was right. She told me to fake it until I make it and I rolled my eyes. So I tried it. Every day for thirty days I read these index cards in which I wrote out in marker about the wonderful things in my life. How I am grateful for my health. I am grateful I can earn a living. I am grateful for my kids. I am grateful for the doctors and nurses working hard to extend my mom’s life.

The situation didn’t changed, but the way I thought about it did. Instead of feeling fear, gloom, doom and sadness, I felt stronger, more hopeful and began to believe in the possibility that things would get better. Changing my thinking didn’t change the outcome. I still lost my house. I still lost my mom. But I didn’t suffer as much along the way as I began to manage my mind. Best part of it, it’s free. No drugs. No appointments. Just 30 days, a few index cards and a pen.

Sandra Beck is the host of Military Mom Talk Radio and the single mother of two boys ages 5 and 8. She is an author, internet brand strategist and speaker. She has worked with the United States Navy, Marine Corps and Army for over 20 years and is passionate about helping women lead their families successfully the specific challenges of military life. Sandra Beck is a regular contributor for Shining Service Worldwide

Leave a Reply

