Life Leadership: Put up or Shut up

If you can't beat em join em!

If you can’t beat em join em!

By Sandra Beck, Military Mom Talk Radio

In tough times many of us put up and shut up. I do. I can get through a crisis, a drama, a life threatening situation and get the job done. I know you can to. We stuff everything down deep inside to handle the situation. And we are good at it.

If you are anything like me, three days after the event, or four or even months later the feelings associated with that event surface. I can get teary eyed over something that during the time I felt nothing. I am not a therapist or licensed to do anything more than catch a fish, but I do know about survival. I know what we do as women to get through what we need to and break down later.

I want to tell you that it’s okay. It’s okay to let yourself have feelings. You don’t have to be tough every day. But what you do have to do is find good ways that get those feelings out that don’t hurt yourself or other people. Talking, writing, drawing, working out, listening to music, walking…even sitting in a church or temple and letting them flow can help. If they are too big get yourself to a therapist to help you.

If you had a headache, I would give you a tablet. If you had heartache, I would give you a hug. If you had stuff all jammed down there just simmering waiting to come out, I would tell you to work on getting it out in a good way. Just saying. Its part of taking care of ourselves so we can continue to serve.

Sandra Beck is the host of Military Mom Talk Radio and the single mother of two boys ages 5 and 8. She is an author, internet brand strategist and speaker. She has worked with the United States Navy, Marine Corps and Army for over 20 years and is passionate about helping women lead their families successfully the specific challenges of military life. Sandra Beck is a regular contributor for Shining Service Worldwide

Leave a Reply

