Life Leadership: Be Still

sandra beck motherhood incorporated

sandra beck motherhood incorporated

by Sandra Beck, Motherhood Incorporated

Yeah Right. Be Still.

When my friend told me this, I was like Man you are off your rocker…you want me a single mother of two boys, mid custody battle, staving off foreclosure and gaining weight to be still.

Yep, he said. Be Still.

So I sat down on the floor like a yogi. More to demonstrate my annoyance with the process than really seeking inner peace. Know what I demanded of my friend. He said, “Be quite and offer all your worries up to your higher power and finish with what you are thankful for.”

I snorted. I closed my eyes and complained to my God. I started with “Great job on the ex-husband, well done God. What a fabulous creation that was—proves even God can’t win them all…” It went downhill from there until I had pretty much enumerated all that was on my mind from state tax hikes to split ends. I took a deep breath wanting to kick my friend for looking so serene and decided I would think about what I was grateful for.

It was weird but when I did I felt myself starting to relax I felt good. It felt good. To unload everything in my mind to my higher power and really think about what I was grateful for. It worked. I did feel better. I still wanted to kick my serene friend but that was just because he was so smug.

Next time you have too much to carry, sit and be still. Offload and think about what you are grateful for. Mock me all you want, but it works.

Sandra Beck is the host of Military Mom Talk Radio and the single mother of two boys ages 5 and 8. She is an author, internet brand strategist and speaker. She has worked with the United States Navy, Marine Corps and Army for over 20 years and is passionate about helping women lead their families successfully the specific challenges of military life. Sandra Beck is a regular contributor for Shining Service Worldwide and is on the nomiations committee for World of Children.

Leave a Reply

